Planning to start a Reading Buddies Program or have one in place already?

Karen Horsman, of CBC Radio’s Metro Morning program (which can be found at 99.1 FM on your radio) has recorded a radio segment on the success of the Reading Buddies program at the Whitby Public Library. The program will be aired in two parts.

Part 1 – November 6 at 7:20 a.m.
Karen chats with her son, “the reluctant reader”.

Part 2 November 13 at 7:20 a.m.
Karen interviews her son’s teen reading buddy, catches some of the background interactions which happen during the Reading Buddies program at the library, and interviews the library technician who runs the reading buddies program at the Whitby Public Library.

I hope you get a chance to listen in on this one!

3 responses to “Planning to start a Reading Buddies Program or have one in place already?

  1. It’s true, I grew up hating to read. Now I write action-adventures & mysteries especially for boys 8 – 13, who also may not like to read.

    NEWSPAPER CAPER, TERROR AT WOLF LAKE, NORTH WOODS POACHERS, MOUNTAIN CABIN MYSTERY, BIG RIG RUSTLERS, SECRET OF ABBOTT’S CAVE & LEGEND OF THE WHITE WOLF, are compared by readers and reviewers to Tom Sawyer, The Hardy Boys, Huck Finn, Nancy Drew, Tom Swift, Scooby-Doo, Lemony Snicket, and adventure author Jack London.

    My blog, Books for Boys, ranks in the top 5 on Yahoo and the top 20 on Google and you can find it at http://booksandboys.blogspot.com There you will also find links to my author’s web site and another blog with 50 pages of reviews.

    If you have any questions, please let me know.

    Thank you,

    Max Elliot Anderson
    Author

    http://www.maxbooks.9k.com
    Now, from an author who hated to read…comes books kids hate to put down.

  2. HI MAX ELLIOT,
    I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF YOU COULD HELP ME I HATED TO READ WHEN I WAS GROWING UP MY FATHER USE TO WAKE THE FAMILY UP AT 6:00 AM ON A SATURDAY MORNING JUST TO READ I SEE KNOW WHAT HE WAS TRYING TO INSTEAL IN US BUT IT MADE ME HATE TO READ IF WE SAID A WORD WRONG WE WOULD GET A SPACKING OH DID I HATE TO READ BUT KNOW THAT I AM A GROWN WOMEN I SEE IT’S NEEDED SO I HAVE CHANGED THAT ALL AROUND I HAVE STARTED A READING GROUP FOR THE YOUNGER GROUP I BELIEVE THAT IF YOU START READING TO THE CHILDREN WHEN THERE YOUNGER READING CAN BE FUN I FEEL THEY WILL LOVE TO READ ALSO MAKE IT FUN I HAVE A BOOK THATS IN PUBLICATION PLEASE GIVE ME SOME ADVICE .
    THANK YOU
    BEBE

  3. Hi Bebe;

    Sorry to hear that learning to read was not the most pleasant of experiences for you while growing up, but I am glad to hear that you are getting involved in trying to make reading a good experience for younger generations. I am not Max Eliott, but I am studying to be a librarian. If you write back with some information on the younger group that you are helping to make reading fun for I may be able to suggest some books. What do they like to read? What don’t they like to read?

    Thanks and all the best,

    K.J.

Leave a Reply

