A Heartwarming Tale from the Reference Desk

Yesterday I helped an elderly man, who was extremely young at heart, wise and quick, to search for genealogy information on Ancestry.com library edition. I really do not like genealogy questions but I put my heart into it and really helped him out. The man was not at all comfortable using a computer on his own, but when I sat down in front of the computer and translated his request into Ancestry.com he was able to see for himself a small portion of the plethora of information available on the Internet. He sure was interested to learn. I think it helps when we can show people the content that they would like to see is available on the Internet. To make a long story short(er), I found the information he was looking for and he was so happy that he gave me a high five! Would you believe it? It truly was a memorable moment for me. I hope that he will come back to the library to take our introductory computer classes. Any ideas on how to people like this young-at-heart (elderly) man to return to the library to take computer courses?

Leave a Reply

