From Silver to Gold and other conference ideas…

Hello to my loyal blog readers, from St. John’s, Newfoundland. I am having such a wonderful time at the conference and learning so much too!

Yesterday I walked up Signal Hill – about a 2 1/2 hour walk practically all uphill. Coming home was really easy after that. Then I met all of the students to CLA and attended the Opening Reception where a Newfoundland band played traditional tunes. I ate dinner with my roommate Janice at Sprouts restaurant and that was really yummy!

Today I started off the day going to the First Timers Breakfast. The food was hot, plentiful and yummy too! Omelets, French toast, waffles, fruit, more than I’d ever eat at home! I met lots of people too. The other students here are really great and its so interesting to hear their thoughts on library school too.

Afterwards I attended the opening ceremonies. The mayor of Newfoundland spoke about how the province has 96 libraries – more libraries per capita then in any other province. I was truly impressed by that fact. The main speaker, Linda Duxbury was excellent and if you ever have the chance to hear her speak, I truly recommend it. She was incredibly motivational and inspiring too. I can’t wait to get out there and be a librarian after hearing her talk. She spoke about generational differences and had everyone in the audience in stitches at times. Some of what she said was a bit generalized, however, it was definitely worth listening too and she had some really great points!

Afterwards I volunteered in the CLA store and was able to buy 4 books that were damaged for super cheap prices ($5 a piece).  All were to do with children’s librarianship: “Opening Doors to Children”, “One-Person Puppetry” and “Early Literacy Storytimes @ your library”. The other book I bought was “The Readers’ Advisory Guide to Genre Fiction”. I can’t wait until I have time to dig into them once I have some time. I don’t think I can go anywhere without buying books!

I attended a session”The Boomers are Coming! Supporting Positive Aging Through Public Library Services to Older Adults” presented by Allan Kleiman the Assistant Library Director of Old Bridge Public Library. Kleiman was an excellent speaker and had some really fascinating points. He argued that the Baby Boomers and older generations ought to have their own space in libraries. I walked into the session as a complete skeptic, but have been converted. Libraries should be creating programs to get older generations into the library. Creating programs that interest Boomers involves appealing to nostalgia – the Rolling Stones, Beatles and other things that this generation relates to make for well-attended programs that attract non-library users into the library. I wrote an article about this for the Signal and it’ll be published in the morning! I was so nervous about that as I am really self-conscious about my writing.

Then I attended a session “The Spirit of Place” with Bill Mitchell, Jean McKendry and Stephen Teeple which was another great session. We looked at library spaces, some of the considerations when designing/planning a library, Academic Library Design and the spirit of the library place from an architectural perspective.

My roommate for the conference, Janice, invited me to go with some of her friends for a tour to Cape Spear. The view was fabulous. We also checked out Petty Harbour too. It was quite pretty and really great to be able to get some photos. I’ll have to post them later to the blog! Janice and I went out to Kelly’s Pub for dinner and it was delicious pub fare.

Tomorrow I am going on the Fun Run, a jog around St. John’s to begin the day, so I’m going to sign out for now. The food, hospitality and people of St. John’s are truly wonderful and I really want to come back here for a trip again some day.

One response to “From Silver to Gold and other conference ideas…

  1. Wow! Great update! The talks sound real interesting and the food sounds even better 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear about Lynda’s talk. That one sounds like it was very inspirational.

Leave a Reply

