Raining in the library

Tonight the boys and girls made a rain storm in the library and listened to the sea through a conch shell.  They really seemed to love it and I sure had a lot of fun with that too.  I think I need to incorporate a more musical element like the rain storm every single week as its better than listening to a music CD and doing the actions.  Any ideas would be marvelous.

We read Whistling for Willie by Ezra Jack Keats, Five Little Ducks (and listened to the CD at the same time – Raffi), There’s a Sea in my Bedroom by Margaret Wild and Slinky Malinki by Lynley Dodd.  The kids really enjoyed everything.  I think Whistling for Willie they related to Peter not being able to whistle, they laughed when Peter pretended he was his Dad and also liked that Peter learned to whistle by the end of the book.  With There’s a Sea in my Bedroom, the boys and girls loved making the sounds of the sea and seeing a conch shell.  They enjoyed the familiarity of Five Little Ducks and loved the repetition in Slinky Malinky, the curiousity of the cat and his feathered friend and the playing with words too.  We read some poems from Jelly Belly too.  It was a great evening and I was shocked that there was such a large turnout more than double the usual crowd.  I’m going to have to really think about what I’ll do when I come back for storytime in 2 weeks – not sure how I’ll match tonights performance.  Really it seems that every week I am improving and its all about practicing and learning as you go along with it.  Tonight I was especially nervous being that there was a larger crowd than usual.  Every week the group seems to double in size so I am wondering what is going to happen in two weeks when I return.

Leave a Reply

