Part 2: Pro-active Customer Service Training in Libraries – Joan Giannone

The second day of the Pro-active Customer Service Training in Libraries session taught by Joan Giannone was about roving, how to improve the library and dealing with difficult customers. Joan shared some invaluable tips with us about communication. I had been forgetting a key step in communication – the greeting! Really it makes a huge difference to greet people before you ask them if they are finding everything. I tried roving today using Joan’s communication model and it worked — I was run off my feet! A huge thank you to Joan for helping me to be a better reference assistant at the library. I was especially thankful as I knew I was helping people – many, many thank yous today and success in finding what people wanted too. Also I find that I get better reference questions when I am out roving the stacks. One was about King James I, of Scotland and that sure was a tough one! I found answers in the Brittanica though – I love challenging reference questions!!!

Leave a Reply

